Home » Other » Training & Certification » Count,SUM, AVG of table data using PL/SQL
Count,SUM, AVG of table data using PL/SQL [message #275413] Fri, 19 October 2007 19:02 Go to next message
rvause
Hello, I'm very new to PL/SQL and I can use all the help I can get. I am being asked to create a table and load in data and then find the count, SUM, and AVG of that data. Count is fairly easy and I've managed to get that. It's the SUM and AVG I'm stumped on. Here is what I have so far, I'd be really grateful for help completing this script.

set serveroutput on
DECLARE
    TYPE capacity_table IS TABLE OF location.capacity%TYPE
    INDEX BY BINARY_INTEGER;
  current_cap_table Capacity_TABLE;
   CURSOR cap_cursor IS
    SELECT room, capacity
    FROM location;
  cap_cursor_row cap_cursor%ROWTYPE;
  current_cap_key number(3);

BEGIN
  --populate the table using the cursor
  FOR cap_cursor_row IN cap_cursor LOOP
     current_cap_table(cap_cursor_row.room) := cap_cursor_row.capacity;
  END LOOP;
  DBMS_OUTPUT.PUT_LINE('The total room count in the CURRENT_cap_TABLE is ' || 
  current_cap_table.COUNT );

End loop;

END;
/

Thanks in advance for any help.

Angel
Re: Count,SUM, AVG of table data using PL/SQL [message #275415 is a reply to message #275413] Fri, 19 October 2007 19:15 Go to previous messageGo to next message
BlackSwan
SELECT room, count(capacity) CNT, sum(capacity) TOTAL, avg(capacity) AVERAGE FROM location group by room;
Re: Count,SUM, AVG of table data using PL/SQL [message #275417 is a reply to message #275415] Fri, 19 October 2007 19:43 Go to previous messageGo to next message
rvause
While I appreciate the quick response with the code that I already have I can't use that select statement. From what I've learned when you are using cursors you can't use the SUM, AVG, and COUNT functions. If I could it would me this a heck of a lot easier. Cool

But thanks.

Angel