Home » RDBMS Server » Networking and Gateways » TNS-12560 and ORA-01041
TNS-12560 and ORA-01041 [message #217547] Fri, 02 February 2007 13:38 Go to next message
EvilNCarnate
I am a newb here, but I do know a little about what I am dealing with. I have an issue with the above two errors and could use some assistance in finding the problem.

Back Story: I work for a software company and our software is backed by an Oracle Database, Reports are run through Oracle Reports... We currently use Oracle Enterprise Edition 8i and Oracle Reports 6 (patch 17). The system in question functioned fine for a very long time (customers system), suddenly they started having connection problems every morning and so they just rebooted the server. Well finally they got tired of it and called me.

Now I was able to take a look and sure enough the client could not connect to the server (application that uses oracle DB). So I started troubleshooting. I did a tnsping to the server using all the names possible and all failed with a tns-12560 error. I then restarted the TNSListener service on the server and tried again, results were the same. Finally I set host entries on the clients, copied the tnsnames.ora from the server to the clients machines (only run reports runtime on machines) and tried again. Still the same error. Changed the Host name in the tnsnames.ora from the server name to the server IP and attempted again... Still no dice.

Now our program is written with delphi and uses BDE. So BDE has entries for Oracle in it, normally I can test with BDE and see if there is an issue there. I tested with BDE and it returned ORA-01041 and TNS-12560. Tried restarting the listener and so forth and still the same.

So I rebooted the server. After rebooting everything works fine. The next day, everything is not working and we are back to square one.