Home » RDBMS Server » Performance Tuning » statistics - to Update or Not
statistics - to Update or Not [message #156789] Fri, 27 January 2006 15:43 Go to next message
mjschwenger
As an Oracle certified Pro I have been thought that every time we have a change in the data we need to update object statistics.
Most of the times on the table with Cascade option = true for all index columns.
I have heavy OLTP - 1000 trxs/sec avarage, huge insert rate.
I use to update my stats after every big load of data - nightly on avarage 6 mln rows inserted. When I have to set up a new test environment, I run the application for a while to get enough data, and them run dbms_stats to gather the stats.
The same type of application runs on DB2. The DB2 guys are using different approach. They collect statistics from a test environment and import them into the new database. Since they are sure that they have the right execution plans, they completely disable all auto update stats options and never run statistics again. The presumption is that if once we have the right execution plans, nothing should ever change in the statistics.
They want me to apply the same approach for Oracle.
OK, but I have been thought the opposite thing! I would think that when I insert with crazy speed I would need to update the statistics to give the optimizer more info for the new structures.
Any thoughts on how the Db2 approach will reflect Oracle performance? I'm on the point to test it next week but it's kind of against of what I have been doing all my life...

Thanks a lot, mj

Re: statistics - to Update or Not [message #156804 is a reply to message #156789] Fri, 27 January 2006 22:15 Go to previous messageGo to next message
rleishman
Question. When you recalculate your statistics, do any of your explain plans change? If not, there is no need to analyze.

Unless your plans change, then the analyze is worthless.