Home » Other » Marketplace » Please Read This, You can help me!
Please Read This, You can help me! [message #105074] Fri, 08 June 2001 06:02 Go to next message
Eric Martin
I am just getting into the computer industry and I have been researching Oracle for a small amount of time and it looks really promising as a career field.

What steps should I take to get myself into the market?

Should I get a Degree in Computer Science?
Should I get a certification in Oracle?
Should I learn programming?
Are Microsoft Certifications helpful?

I would love any information you could send to me.

I am very outgoing and ambitious and willing to start from the ground up...any reccomendations or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Eric Martin
Kamel407@yahoo.com

----------------------------------------------------------------------
Re: Please Read This, You can help me! [message #105075 is a reply to message #105074] Sat, 09 June 2001 02:19 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Sundae
Yes, i am in the same situation as you.
I'd like to know if ORACLE DBA would be the right path to take.

----------------------------------------------------------------------
Re: Please Read This, You can help me! [message #105498 is a reply to message #105074] Sat, 09 February 2002 21:12 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Lekharaju
Eric & Sundae,

I saw your message ,

about my self
I am working as DBA for 7+ yrs in USA.
DB2 UDB (universal Database) for 3 yrs
DB2 OS/390 (mainframe) dba for 1+ ys
Oracle DBA for 3 yrs.

now a days Oracle didn't have good demand in IT market, try to start your career with IBM DB2 & Java. that may make your career better.

If you guys need any help or guidence feel free to contact me at elraju@hotmail.com

All the Best.

Raju
( Certified Oracle8i , DB2 UDB DBA & Sun Solaris SysAdmin)
Re: Please Read This, You can help me! [message #105642 is a reply to message #105074] Fri, 03 May 2002 15:03 Go to previous message
Sean Collier
Hey Eric & Sundae,