Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » Code not waiting for REFCURSOR (Oracle 12c)
Code not waiting for REFCURSOR [message #685752] Thu, 17 March 2022 04:28 Go to next message
IanC
This is my first post on here so hello everybody! I'm fairly new to PL/SQL and come from an MS background so hopefully so hopefully this is a simple answer to something I'm struggling with.

I've setup a reporting structure so our Crystal reports can call stored procedures for the data and it's working quite well; each sproc effectively has three lines of codes, the first to create an entry in a logging table, the second to open a refcursor and the third to update the entry in the logging table with the finish time. The problem I'm getting is that although the query for the refcursor can sometimes take a while to run, the code seems to skip straight over the refcursor instantly and go straight onto the final update so according to my logs each report is only taking a split second to run.

I guess this is probably something to do with the refcursor as it probably just acts as a pointer to the data but I need the code to wait until the query has run before moving on to the next line of code; is it possible to do this?
Re: Code not waiting for REFCURSOR [message #685754 is a reply to message #685752] Thu, 17 March 2022 10:44 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Michel Cadot
Account Moderator
As stated in the documentation:

Quote:
The OPEN FOR statement associates a cursor variable with a query, allocates database resources to process the query, identifies the result set, and positions the cursor before the first row of the result set.

So, generally, the biggest part of the time Oracle takes to open a cursor is to determine the first row which can be instantaneous or take long depending on the query text and the execution path the optimizer chooses.