Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » Dropping tables in a stored procedure (119)
Dropping tables in a stored procedure [message #655041] Fri, 19 August 2016 07:19 Go to next message
simonrlee22
Hi

I'm relatively new to oracle and I'm having trouble writing a stored procedure.

I want to baicly check if a table exists, if it does I want to drop it and create a new one. if it doesn't exist then I should just create a new one.

My code seems to work if the table is not there, but if it is there, it seems to drop it and then end the pricedure.

My code is below:

create or replace PROCEDURE SL_CREATE_ENROLMENT_CURRENT (vDate IN DATE) IS

vFYear VARCHAR2(2);

BEGIN
vFYear:= SL_GET_FUNDING_YEAR(vDate);

EXECUTE IMMEDIATE 'DROP TABLE SL_ENROLMENT_'||vFYear||'';

EXCEPTION
WHEN OTHERS THEN NULL;

EXECUTE IMMEDIATE
'CREATE TABLE SL_ENROLMENT_'||vFYear||' AS

SELECT .........
FROM...........';

END SL_CREATE_ENROLMENT_CURRENT;

Thanks in Advance

Simon
Re: Dropping tables in a stored procedure [message #655042 is a reply to message #655041] Fri, 19 August 2016 07:37 Go to previous messageGo to next message
BlackSwan
BAD, Bad, bad code

use Global Temporary Table instead
Re: Dropping tables in a stored procedure [message #655043 is a reply to message #655041] Fri, 19 August 2016 07:39 Go to previous messageGo to next message
John Watson
Welcome to the forum. Please read our OraFAQ Forum Guide and How to use [code] tags and make your code easier to read

Be prepared for people to tell not to do this. Creating objects dynamically is a Bad Thing.
Apart from that, your second EXECUTE IMMEDIATE is in the exceptions clause, so you never get to it unless the DROP failed and raised the exception.
Re: Dropping tables in a stored procedure [message #655044 is a reply to message #655043] Fri, 19 August 2016 08:33 Go to previous messageGo to next message
simonrlee22
Hi,

THankyou for the responses.