Home » Server Options » Replication » DML from trigger not propagated (Oracle 10.2.0.4, Windows XP 32-bit)
DML from trigger not propagated [message #424954] Tue, 06 October 2009 12:13 Go to next message
foxius
Hi.

I am a developer and have little knowledge of Advanced Replication. I came across an issue our DBAs are not able to resolve.

Suppose there are 2 sites - Site1 and Site2.
There are 2 replicated tables at both sides - TableA and TableB. The replication mode used is multi-master.

TableA is used to store some records. TableB is used to change the state of those records only at originating site - that is, TableB has an AFTER trigger that does an UPDATE on TableA using the primary key and site id.

Now suppose we insert a record at Site1 into TableA - the record is successfully propagated to Site2. Everything is fine so far.

Then we insert a record into TableB at Site2 - the after trigger is fired but doesn't update anything because it's not the originating site. Then the record is propagated to Site1 where again an after trigger fires on TableB - this time we run an UPDATE on TableA. The problem is that this UPDATE on TableB is not propagated to Site1, we can't see this transaction in the replication queue.

My guess is that the internal trigger that's used to capture the changes ignores this DML due to DBMS_REPUTIL.FROM_REMOTE being true. Is there a solution for this or at least a safe workaround?

The last resort is to create a deferred procedure call but I don't want to go that far.

Thanks in advance!
Re: DML from trigger not propagated [message #424959 is a reply to message #424954] Tue, 06 October 2009 14:35 Go to previous messageGo to next message
babuknb

Quote:
Then we insert a record into TableB at Site2 - the after trigger is fired but doesn't update anything because it's not the originating site

One question here. Your using advanced replication & also your using confilct resolution? If yes which type your using?

- Babu