Home » Developer & Programmer » Forms » TNS problem & TNS admin method (merged)
TNS problem & TNS admin method (merged) [message #341856] Wed, 20 August 2008 10:40 Go to next message
Apps11i
Hi, I am new to forms and creating a new form for the first time.
when i try connecting to the data base it is giving me the below error message.

ORA-12154: TNS Could not resolve service name.

for the same database i am able to connect using sqlplus, toad and other sql tools.

can anyone please guide me to resolve this. litl urgent it is.

thank you in advance,
Kiran
Re: TNS problem [message #341869 is a reply to message #341856] Wed, 20 August 2008 11:40 Go to previous messageGo to next message
BlackSwan
most likely you now have two different ORACLE_HOME directories.
copy the tnsnames.ora file from the tree which hold Oracle s/w to the tree which supports Forms.
Re: TNS problem [message #341944 is a reply to message #341869] Wed, 20 August 2008 16:13 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Apps11i
TNS Names there in both the oracle_home and still having the same issue. let me know is there any other way to resolve this issue.

thanx,
Kiran
Re: TNS problem [message #342007 is a reply to message #341869] Thu, 21 August 2008 01:12 Go to previous messageGo to next message
djmartin
Account Moderator
NO!! NO!! NO!! NO!! NO!!

Will you weenies use the 'tns_admin' method and stop maintaining two copies of the bloody file!

Daivd
Re: TNS problem [message #342514 is a reply to message #342007] Fri, 22 August 2008 10:34 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Apps11i
Hello David,

Even i tried with the same possibility, but no luck.
can you guide me to resolve this issue please.
Re: TNS problem [message #343325 is a reply to message #342514] Tue, 26 August 2008 23:42 Go to previous messageGo to next message
djmartin
Account Moderator
How many Oracle Homes do you have on your PC? Look in the registry under HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\ORACLE\ALL_HOMES and HOME_COUNTER.

David