Home » Applications » Oracle Fusion Apps & E-Business Suite » Pls advice me about ERP Packages
Pls advice me about ERP Packages [message #96784] Sun, 30 January 2005 23:30 Go to next message
ram
Hi Friends!

I am an Engineering Graduate and having 7-8 yrs of experience in IT field. For the past 3-4 yrs I have been working on Oracle(PL/SQL,Forms,Reports). I have no Financial knowledge/background but I worked a Project on a Financial firm. Now I want to switch over to either Oracle 11i Applications(Financials)/SAP. So can anybody tell me what would be the best long term career move in ERP training: Oracle Applications or SAP?

Can you pls advice me also what's the basic knowledge required to go to ERP packages?

Thanks in advance.
Re: Pls advice me about ERP Packages [message #96800 is a reply to message #96784] Tue, 01 February 2005 06:39 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Aleksander
Given your background I think the easiest for you, given your background, would to get some kind of technical role dealing with Oracle E-Business Suite. You could start of doing custom reports, interfaces, conversion and extensions and pick up the functional aspects as you go.

The Oracle E-Business Suite is built using Forms, Reports and PL/SQL. There are some older batches written in C, and a lot of the newer applications are written in Java. SAP is written to be database independent and you will have a lot less use for your present experience, though a good understanding of relation databases and SQL always comes in handy.

Of course you will have to consider the job market as well. SAP is the clear market leader, but this is a pretty exciting time for working with Oracle E-Business Suite given the acquisition of Peoplesoft.

--
Aleksander
Re: Pls advice me about ERP Packages [message #96801 is a reply to message #96800] Tue, 01 February 2005 17:51 Go to previous messageGo to next message
ram