Home » RDBMS Server » Server Utilities » schema not found (10g)
schema not found [message #551159] Mon, 16 April 2012 01:09 Go to next message
Schmike
Messages: 3
Registered: April 2012
Junior Member
I'm new to oracle and solaris.

I've got a dmp file that I need to restore from. I've managed to successfully restore it in windows but not in solaris.

ran the following command:
$impdp SCHEMAS=<schema> DUMPFILE=<dumpfile> LOGFILE=<logfile>

I got the following error:
SCHEMAS=<schema>: not found

Basically anything after $impdp is always not found. Is there any problem during setup? Setup is done by someone else.
Re: schema not found [message #551161 is a reply to message #551159] Mon, 16 April 2012 01:12 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Michel Cadot
Messages: 66807
Registered: March 2007
Location: Nanterre, France, http://...
Senior Member
Account Moderator
Copy and paste the COMPLETE session.

Before, Please read OraFAQ Forum Guide and How to use [code] tags and make your code easier to read.
Make sure that lines of code do not exceed 80 characters when you format.
Indent the code, use code tags and align the columns in result.
Use the "Preview Message" button to verify.
Also always post your Oracle version, with 4 decimals.

Regards
Michel
Re: schema not found [message #551164 is a reply to message #551159] Mon, 16 April 2012 01:21 Go to previous messageGo to next message
John Watson
Messages: 8137
Registered: January 2010
Location: Global Village
Senior Member
Are you typing
$impdp
including the dollar sign? If you are, that would give you the error because Solaris will interpret $impdp as a variable with null content, and then attempt to find a command SCHEMA. The command is
impdp
Re: schema not found [message #551166 is a reply to message #551164] Mon, 16 April 2012 01:27 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Schmike
Messages: 3
Registered: April 2012
Junior Member
Version is 10.2.0.4

After I ran it without the dollar sign, it says impdp not found.

Do I have to reinstall Oracle?

Re: schema not found [message #551169 is a reply to message #551166] Mon, 16 April 2012 01:31 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Littlefoot
Messages: 21530
Registered: June 2005
Location: Croatia, Europe
Senior Member
Account Moderator
Probably not; that would depend on what you HAVE installed so far. If it is just an Oracle client, maybe you didn't install utilities (which includes Export/import data pump). Obviously, you'd run the installer again and install missing components.
Re: schema not found [message #551170 is a reply to message #551166] Mon, 16 April 2012 01:38 Go to previous messageGo to next message
John Watson
Messages: 8137
Registered: January 2010
Location: Global Village
Senior Member
You haven't set your search path correctly. Ask your DBA (or system administrator) to explain how to do that, probably by using the
oraenv
script.
Re: schema not found [message #551173 is a reply to message #551166] Mon, 16 April 2012 01:40 Go to previous messageGo to next message
John Watson
Messages: 8137
Registered: January 2010
Location: Global Village
Senior Member
Actually, since you already know how to run impdp on Windows, why log on to Soalris at all? Just run the import from your Windows machine where you understand all this.
Re: schema not found [message #551175 is a reply to message #551173] Mon, 16 April 2012 01:42 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Schmike
Messages: 3
Registered: April 2012
Junior Member
The problem is that my client is running the database on a solaris and I have to replicate their setup.

Thanks for all the help. I will check with my infra team on the setup again.
Re: schema not found [message #551189 is a reply to message #551175] Mon, 16 April 2012 03:12 Go to previous message
Michel Cadot
Messages: 66807
Registered: March 2007
Location: Nanterre, France, http://...
Senior Member
Account Moderator
Michel Cadot wrote on Mon, 16 April 2012 08:12
Copy and paste the COMPLETE session.

Before, Please read OraFAQ Forum Guide and How to use [code] tags and make your code easier to read.
Make sure that lines of code do not exceed 80 characters when you format.
Indent the code, use code tags and align the columns in result.
Use the "Preview Message" button to verify.
Also always post your Oracle version, with 4 decimals.

Regards
Michel

Previous Topic: overwrite existing dump file in expdp in oracle 10g
Next Topic: How to find estimated time to complete import (imp)
Goto Forum:
  


Current Time: Tue Jan 28 20:04:07 CST 2020