Home » RDBMS Server » Server Utilities » Directories in data pump (Oracle, 10.2.0.4.0 , SunOS 5.10)
Directories in data pump [message #535079] Mon, 12 December 2011 02:42 Go to next message
Jack14
Messages: 497
Registered: December 2011
Location: INDIA
Senior Member
Hi,

There are multiple directories created in server for data pump. Can somebody tell me
which one to use for export data pump ?

Re: Directories in data pump [message #535081 is a reply to message #535079] Mon, 12 December 2011 02:45 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Michel Cadot
Messages: 67290
Registered: March 2007
Location: Nanterre, France, http://...
Senior Member
Account Moderator
The one you want.

Regards
Michel
Re: Directories in data pump [message #535083 is a reply to message #535081] Mon, 12 December 2011 02:49 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Jack14
Messages: 497
Registered: December 2011
Location: INDIA
Senior Member
Michel,

Can you pls elaborate your answer ?

Thank you
Re: Directories in data pump [message #535088 is a reply to message #535083] Mon, 12 December 2011 03:03 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Michel Cadot
Messages: 67290
Registered: March 2007
Location: Nanterre, France, http://...
Senior Member
Account Moderator
What don't you understand?

Answer this question:
I have several directories on my PC, which one to use for my file?

Regards
Michel

[Updated on: Mon, 12 December 2011 03:03]

Report message to a moderator

Re: Directories in data pump [message #535098 is a reply to message #535088] Mon, 12 December 2011 03:49 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Littlefoot
Messages: 21579
Registered: June 2005
Location: Croatia, Europe
Senior Member
Account Moderator
As a directory object points to a directory on a database server, the one you'll use might depend on privileges you have on operating system level on that server. For example, administrator might have given you permission to access C:\EXPORT_1 directory, but you can't access C:\EXPORT_2 nor C:\EXPORT_3 (as you'd get "Access denied" message). Obviously, you'd use the first one.
Re: Directories in data pump [message #535110 is a reply to message #535098] Mon, 12 December 2011 04:12 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Jack14
Messages: 497
Registered: December 2011
Location: INDIA
Senior Member
Little foot,

Thank you for your explanation.

As you said
Quote:
the one you'll use might depend on privileges you have on operating system level on that server.
For example, administrator might have given you permission to access C:\EXPORT_1 directory,
but you can't access C:\EXPORT_2 nor C:\EXPORT_3 (as you'd get "Access denied" message).


How to check the administrator has given permission to access those directories?



Re: Directories in data pump [message #535116 is a reply to message #535110] Mon, 12 December 2011 04:18 Go to previous message
Littlefoot
Messages: 21579
Registered: June 2005
Location: Croatia, Europe
Senior Member
Account Moderator
I'd ask the administrator.
Previous Topic: SQL*Loader (sqlldr) Timezone Import "UTC"
Next Topic: Import whole database to another database.. is it possible?
Goto Forum:
  


Current Time: Sat Aug 08 04:28:55 CDT 2020