Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » Insert much slower in PL/SQL than native SQL
Insert much slower in PL/SQL than native SQL [message #279266] Wed, 07 November 2007 09:34 Go to next message
Ignatius
Hi all, I'm new to PL/SQL and am running into a problem...

I need to insert about 1.2 million rows over a database link into a different schema each day. If I run the query in SQL+ through a regular INSERT statement, this takes about 3-4 minutes. If I run the same query as part of a PL/SQL package, it runs for 3 hours. The target table, volume of data, and database traffic are all the same under both scenarios, I'm sure there's something basic I'm missing but I'm kind of stumped.

The native SQL query (3-4 minutes):

INSERT INTO	target_table
      SELECT	column1,
		column2,
		column3
		sysdate
	FROM	source_table@dblink
       WHERE	load_period BETWEEN TO_DATE('07-NOV-2007','DD-MON-YYYY') AND TO_DATE('07-NOV-2007','DD-MON-YYYY');

The procedure (3 hours):

PROCEDURE	procedure_name (in_lower_load_period IN NUMBER,
					 in_upper_load_period IN NUMBER) IS

v_lower_load_period_date	target_table.load_period%TYPE;
		v_upper_load_period_date	target_table.load_period%TYPE;
		v_record_update_date		target_table.record_update_date%TYPE;

BEGIN

v_record_update_date:= sysdate;

v_lower_load_period_date:= TO_DATE(in_lower_load_period,'YYYYMMDD');
		v_upper_load_period_date:= TO_DATE(in_upper_load_period,'YYYYMMDD');

-- Truncate target table:

EXECUTE IMMEDIATE 'TRUNCATE TABLE target_table';

--Insert records into target table:

INSERT INTO	target_table
      SELECT	column1,
		column2,
		column3
		v_record_update_date
	FROM	source_table@dblink
       WHERE	load_period BETWEEN v_lower_load_period_date AND v_upper_load_period_date;

Thanks in advance, any help would be appreciated...

Iggy

[Updated on: Wed, 07 November 2007 10:35]

Report message to a moderator