Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » Using an Index
Using an Index [message #275199] Thu, 18 October 2007 14:58 Go to next message
egray
Hi all,

I am trying to figure out how to get a unique ID number for a records I would like to Insert/Update on a table. I think I am missing a step in all the articles I have read, so I am turning here for help. My background is in MS SQL, and Oracle PL/SQL is new to me.

I have found the following index below and I need help figuring out how to gather the unique id and complete the insert/update statements.

CREATE UNIQUE INDEX "GN"."SHIPPING_IDX" ON "GN"."SHIPPING" ("PID", "SID", "ENTRYID")
PCTFREE 1 INITRANS 32 MAXTRANS 255 NOLOGGING COMPUTE STATISTICS
STORAGE(INITIAL 655360 NEXT 1048576 MINEXTENTS 1 MAXEXTENTS 2147483645
PCTINCREASE 0 FREELISTS 1 FREELIST GROUPS 1 BUFFER_POOL DEFAULT)
TABLESPACE "GREEN_INDEX" ;

SQL> INSERT INTO GN.SHIPPING (PID,SID,ENTRYID,SVALUE) VALUES (:hvPID,:hvSID,:hvENTRYID,:hvSVALUE)

SQL> UPDATE GN.SHIPPING SET ENTRYID=:hvENTRYID,SVALUE=:hvSVALUE WHERE PID=:hvPIDw AND SID=:hvSIDw AND ENTRYID=:hvENTRYIDw

Any help or direction is appreciated. Thanks!
Re: Using an Index [message #275202 is a reply to message #275199] Thu, 18 October 2007 15:16 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Bill B
What exactly are you trying to do with the insert? If you are trying to update a specific row and there is a unique index on PID, SID, and ENTRYID then using the three columns in the where clause on the update will only update one row. There is one exception. If all three columns contain null, then you could have 50 rows inserted and an update of the form

where PID IS NULL AND SID IS NULL AND ENTRYID IS NULL would update all 50 rows.

[Updated on: Thu, 18 October 2007 15:19]

Report message to a moderator

Re: Using an Index [message #275205 is a reply to message #275199] Thu, 18 October 2007 15:35 Go to previous messageGo to next message
egray