Home » Developer & Programmer » Forms » Http Listner not found on 8889 port (Developer 10g)
Http Listner not found on 8889 port (Developer 10g) [message #270900] Fri, 28 September 2007 05:25 Go to next message
BILALg

Hi all,

Hope every thing is fine. I have a problem in running form that error message appear which is as follows:

{
FRM-10142 The HTTP Listner is not running on (Host) at port 8889. Please start the listner or check your runtime preferences.
}

I m sure that Http Listner is running on and preferences is also correct.
I have also run "startinst" and "stopinst" batch files but not succeeeded in resolving the problem.
Pls see attached file for further information.
Pls reply soon.

Thanks
Bilal
Re: Http Listner not found on 8889 port (Developer 10g) [message #271071 is a reply to message #270900] Sat, 29 September 2007 00:10 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Kevin Meade
I am no expert, but here are my guesses:

port 8889 is the default port for OC4J. I only get this error when one of the two things is true (not that there aren't other possibilities):

1) I forgot to launch OC4J, or the bat file failed.
2) it started on a different port because of a port conflict.

you might wish to check port 8888, this is also a default for oc4j.

Also, check to see if you started application server rather than oc4j. It uses port 80 be default.

Lastly, there is supposed to be a way to check what port oc4j is using, but I forget (or never knew). Maybe enterprise manager, or database console. The port is supposed to be specified in the xml config file for oc4j. My file name is:

C:\DevSuiteHome_1\j2ee\home\config\default-web-site.xml

but it says port 8888, and yet I laaunch my forms using 8889

go figure.

Good luck, sorry I am likely only telling you things you already know.

Kevin

Re: Http Listner not found on 8889 port (Developer 10g) [message #271073 is a reply to message #271071] Sat, 29 September 2007 00:40 Go to previous messageGo to next message
BILALg