Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » Using PL/SQL to generate List to match Records
Using PL/SQL to generate List to match Records [message #260738] Mon, 20 August 2007 16:55 Go to next message
hdogg
I am new to stored procedures and have done tons of research trying to figure out how i can use them...The concept isn't quite coming all together....

What I am trying to do.....

Use a loop to generate the next 24 month end
31-AUG-07
30-SEP-07
31-OCT-07 etc

i select the latest_date from the actuals table
select max(date)as latest_date from the Actuals table where rownum <2.

Then i would loop the next 24 months

for var in 0 ..24 loop 
         add_months(latest_date, var);
    end loop;
end

After the loop is generated... I would like to be able query a forecast table and essentially union the dates to the forecast d
SELECT AMOUNT, FUTURE_DATE FROM FORECASTS WHERE FUTURE_DATE = ((date(s) from stored procedure))

Would stored procedures be the way to go for this?
Re: Using PL/SQL to generate List to match Records [message #260767 is a reply to message #260738] Mon, 20 August 2007 21:14 Go to previous messageGo to next message
BlackSwan
>Would stored procedures be the way to go for this?
Never use PL/SQL, when SQL can solve the problem.
Re: Using PL/SQL to generate List to match Records [message #260769 is a reply to message #260738] Mon, 20 August 2007 21:38 Go to previous messageGo to next message
flyboy
In addition, how to generate rows in SQL is described in Oracle Row Generator Techniques article.
Its usage for generating dates (although different from your case) is discussed in Creating a Calendar (merged 3 topics) thread.
Re: Using PL/SQL to generate List to match Records [message #261032 is a reply to message #260769] Tue, 21 August 2007 09:48 Go to previous messageGo to next message
hdogg
flyboy, michel --

Thanks a bunch for pointing me the right direction... Smile The oracle row generator techniques showed me the right way to get a list of 24 months....