Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » Execute Immediate
icon5.gif  Execute Immediate [message #248072] Thu, 28 June 2007 00:22 Go to next message
balaji23_d
Hi!

When I was working in my previous work (view in a stored example) I was thinking about the following problem:
There are some special view for example the dba_roles. If I would like to select the number of the rows of this view in a stored procedure I've got to use the execute immediate command. That's good.
But what can I do if I would like to manage this view within a cursor from row to row in a stored procedure?
I studied this problem from every side. I look into the syntax and the usage of the execute immediate command. I tried to assemble a very difficult execute immediate command to solve this problem, but this trying got nowhere.

This "difficult" and very complex command exists at all?
Re: Execute Immediate [message #248073 is a reply to message #248072] Thu, 28 June 2007 00:27 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Michel Cadot
Account Moderator
Quote:
If I would like to select the number of the rows of this view in a stored procedure I've got to use the execute immediate command. That's good.

No, that's wrong you don't use "execute immediate" just directly select.

Quote:
But what can I do if I would like to manage this view within a cursor from row to row in a stored procedure?

Use a cursor and not "execute immediate".

Rule: NEVER USE "EXECUTE IMMEDIATE" BUT FOR DYNAMIC SQL (or ddl).

(Well, there are some very very specific cases).
Regards
Michel

[Updated on: Thu, 28 June 2007 00:27]

Report message to a moderator

Re: Execute Immediate [message #248080 is a reply to message #248072] Thu, 28 June 2007 00:39 Go to previous messageGo to next message
balaji23_d
I have a similar requirement. But in my case, the select query has multiple tables, so I cannot use %ROWTYPE.

Also, I have not used 'sys_refcursor' , can you tell me whats the use of this?