Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » How to create a simple join query?
icon9.gif  How to create a simple join query? [message #239869] Wed, 23 May 2007 09:03 Go to next message
asparrow
Embarassed
Hi Everybody....

I am REALLY new to Oracle but have a need to determine who, from a population of users, has created records of a certain type over the same time duration.

Here's the query that gives me the users I need over the timeframe:

select *
from test.ldap
where to_date(creation_date) > '31-DEC-2006'
and to_date(creation_date) < '1-APR-2007'
and approval_status = 'APPROVED'

and here's the query that gives me the record types I need over the same time period:

select *
from shiptest.bol_base
where bol_type = 'BOL'
and origin_flag <> 'LB'
and to_date(creation_date) > '31-DEC-2006'
and status <> 'I'
and rbill is not null

There is a field in shiptest.bol_base called creator that corresponds to the test.ldap userid field, so I'd need to pull the records where test.ldap(userid) is equal to shiptest.bol_base(creator).

Please help....

Thanks!
Re: How to create a simple join query? [message #239874 is a reply to message #239869] Wed, 23 May 2007 09:21 Go to previous messageGo to next message
joy_division
asparrow wrote on Wed, 23 May 2007 10:03
Embarassed
Hi Everybody....

I am REALLY new to Oracle but have a need to determine who, from a population of users, has created records of a certain type over the same time duration.

Here's the query that gives me the users I need over the timeframe:

select *
from test.ldap
where to_date(creation_date) > '31-DEC-2006'
and approval_status = 'APPROVED'

Since you're new, you might as well start using the correct way to use DATEs in queries before you get into a bad habit. Please use the TO_DATE function on character strings such as '31-DEC-2006'.