Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » Using COBOL to acess a Oracle databse
Using COBOL to acess a Oracle databse [message #235908] Tue, 08 May 2007 06:50 Go to next message
ozstrider
Hi there,
I'm a computer science student from Brazil and I just got a project to implement in COBOL from my ass teacher.

The problem is, she did not explain anything on how to do it, and I have no idea about how to do it. I've never even tried to connect to a database... I don't know how it works.

If someone could please give me some direction I would apreciate it

Some stuff that I have no idea:

-I have Oracle 10g installed and a server running in my PC, can I access it with COBOL?
-If yes, where can I find the commands to do this?
-Wich COBOL compiler would be best to do something like this (free)

Thanks in advance
Desperate cobol noob
Re: Using COBOL to acess a Oracle databse [message #235915 is a reply to message #235908] Tue, 08 May 2007 07:09 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Frank
Would this not be the perfect time to ask your teacher?
Re: Using COBOL to acess a Oracle databse [message #235916 is a reply to message #235908] Tue, 08 May 2007 07:12 Go to previous messageGo to next message
ozstrider
You don't understand, she WON'T help. When you ask her she says:

"Do you know something called.. library ? Or maybe... Google?"

she's stupid..
Re: Using COBOL to acess a Oracle databse [message #235922 is a reply to message #235916] Tue, 08 May 2007 07:29 Go to previous messageGo to next message
ThomasG
Hmmm.. I seem to remeber that at least an old 7.X DB we used shipped with something called "procobol".

A google for

oracle procobol examples

gave a few hits, but as far as I can tell it seems to be somewhat obsolete.
Re: Using COBOL to acess a Oracle databse [message #236100 is a reply to message #235916] Wed, 09 May 2007 00:59 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Frank
ozstrider wrote on Tue, 08 May 2007 14:12