Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » very newb question on creating a table
very newb question on creating a table [message #229980] Tue, 10 April 2007 08:22 Go to next message
Syix
Hi - my professor wants us to create a table and ive been ttrying to figure out how... as we have just begun the class... the instructions for the assignment are as follows:

a. Create table NEWDEPT with the following fields
i. Deptid, primary key of integer type (2 digits)
ii. DeptName, variable string up to 12 characters
iii. Location, variable sring up to 12 characters

b. Populate the NEWDEPT table with the following records
i. 10, Finance, Charlotte
ii. 20, InfoSys, New York
iii. 30, Sales, Woodbridge
iv. 40, Marketing, Los Angeles

so as you see i have to create a table like that and ive been playin around and cant quite figure it out as im new to oracle and all sql stuff hehe ... sorry to ask a question right off the bat. But i hate struggling with this stuff. if someone could show me how to do this it would be great! cause im interested in actually learning this stuff for my future - thanks all.. and hello =)
Re: very newb question on creating a table [message #229984 is a reply to message #229980] Tue, 10 April 2007 08:25 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Cthulhu
This forum is not really intended for people doing courses. In any case, you should be able to figure it out yourself from the course notes provided.
Re: very newb question on creating a table [message #229989 is a reply to message #229984] Tue, 10 April 2007 08:38 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Maaher
Kudos for not mocking about and for telling us that this is an assignment. You might want to check out the SQL FAQ.

MHE
Re: very newb question on creating a table [message #229993 is a reply to message #229980] Tue, 10 April 2007 08:44 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Frank
Hm, if you already hate doing this, you may be in for some nasty surprises during this course...