Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » running Oracle Procedures as a DOS Batch file
running Oracle Procedures as a DOS Batch file [message #224868] Thu, 15 March 2007 16:06 Go to next message
boi-alien
Hi,

I have written several oracle procedures that I need to run every day. The DBA can't give me access to store the procedures as the DB I'm using is a production database. I've heard that you can run these scripts as a dos batch file. I have never done anything like that before. Can anybody give me some hints or sample code on how to do this?

Thanks.
Re: running Oracle Procedures as a DOS Batch file [message #224872 is a reply to message #224868] Thu, 15 March 2007 16:28 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Littlefoot
Account Moderator
Put your Oracle code into a file. For this example, let's call it 'test.sql':
begin
  insert into test values (my_seq.nextval);
end;
/

exit

Write DOS batch script (let's call it 'job.bat'), such as this one:
sqlplus -s scott/tiger@ora10 @test.sql

At the DOS prompt, you'd run it as
c:\> job

As you need to run it every day, use Windows Task scheduler, create a task and that should be all.
Re: running Oracle Procedures as a DOS Batch file [message #224880 is a reply to message #224868] Thu, 15 March 2007 17:14 Go to previous messageGo to next message
boi-alien
Hi Littlefoot,

I tried, that, I'm getting errors in the DOS prompt.

I just did a quick test for example, in my test.sql file I have the following:

begin
create table sasdev08.testing_dos_batch as
select * from sasdev08.class_loads_temp;

end;
/

when I run the batch file i get an error saying
ORA-06550: line 2, column 1:
PLS-00103: Encountered the symbol "CREATE" when expecting one of the following:
begin declare exit for goto if loop mod null prgama raise return select update whil <an identifier>...etc..
Re: running Oracle Procedures as a DOS Batch file [message #224883 is a reply to message #224880] Thu, 15 March 2007 17:34 Go to previous messageGo to next message