Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » INSERT: inserting huge data using '&' in Oracle 9i
icon7.gif  INSERT: inserting huge data using '&' in Oracle 9i [message #218678] Fri, 09 February 2007 04:56 Go to next message
suzane
Hi,

I'm a beginner. I wud APPRECIATE if someone help me RESOLVE my queries. As mentioned in the headline of the topic, I have a problem in executing ' insert' for huge data using '&'.

Syntax :
> insert into emp values (&E_no,'&E_name','&Job',&Sal);

till this syntax everything was fine and i was able to enter values for one row. BUT, after that I didn't find any request by SQL,for the second set of entries to be made.

Can you suggest me what SQL command has to be used to proceed with inserting entries. I tried using Sthng '>set verify off' (Donno what it is..!?), but it was invalid.

I wud be VERY Thankful to you,

Regards,
Suzane.
Re: INSERT: inserting huge data using '&' in Oracle 9i [message #218682 is a reply to message #218678] Fri, 09 February 2007 05:08 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Littlefoot
Account Moderator
At the SQL*Plus prompt, enter slash / and press <Enter>. This will require you to enter new values.
SQL> create table tst (id number, name varchar2(20));

Table created.

SQL> insert into tst values (&id, '&name');
Enter value for id: 1
Enter value for name: Littlefoot
old   1: insert into tst values (&id, '&name')
new   1: insert into tst values (1, 'Littlefoot')

1 row created.

SQL> /
Enter value for id: 2
Enter value for name: Suzane
old   1: insert into tst values (&id, '&name')
new   1: insert into tst values (2, 'Suzane')

1 row created.

SQL> select * from tst;

ID NAME
---------- --------------------
         1 Littlefoot
         2 Suzane

SQL>

[EDIT] Added a live example.

[Updated on: Fri, 09 February 2007 05:10]

Report message to a moderator

icon7.gif  Re: INSERT: inserting huge data using '&' in Oracle 9i [message #218689 is a reply to message #218682] Fri, 09 February 2007 05:42 Go to previous message