Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » Query on namespace and dbms_session.set_context
Query on namespace and dbms_session.set_context [message #217786] Mon, 05 February 2007 09:05 Go to next message
rolex.mp
I am new to oracle . I came across the word namespace when I was looking for information on dbms_session.set_context.

I came to know that dbms_session.set_context can be used for security purpose depending on the user who logs in but I dont know how to relate namespace here.

Is schema and namespace one and the same?
Can any of you let me know what does namespace mean in oracle ?
Also can u brief me upon the usage of dbms_session.set_context?

Re: Query on namespace and dbms_session.set_context [message #217807 is a reply to message #217786] Mon, 05 February 2007 11:56 Go to previous messageGo to next message
ebrian
A schema has it's own namespaces for it's objects. A namespace is basically a context for identifiers. Check Oracle Security Guide for a demonstration of DBMS_SESSION.SET_CONTEXT usage.
Re: Query on namespace and dbms_session.set_context [message #217920 is a reply to message #217786] Tue, 06 February 2007 01:58 Go to previous messageGo to next message
rolex.mp
I checked with the link and it gives a overview about the application context and access control which I was able to follow but I was not able to understand what namespace means .

And how context is related to namespace?

Whenever i create a new context and check dba_context the context created is listed in the column namespace .

So what does this namespace actually contain ?
Re: Query on namespace and dbms_session.set_context [message #218011 is a reply to message #217920] Tue, 06 February 2007 06:42 Go to previous message
ebrian