Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » New to Oracle!
New to Oracle! [message #210889] Sat, 23 December 2006 00:23 Go to next message
Atif_Khan
Dear friends,

I am new to Oracle and have to do some task using ORacle. Our client is running their DB on Oracle and they have provided me the dump file of their DB. I have installed Oracle and now want to import that .dmp file. I have few questions for that.

1. Do I have to create a user/DB to imp .dmp file?
2. When I log into SQL Plus shell I dont see imp command in the help.

Waiting for helping replies.

Re: New to Oracle! [message #210894 is a reply to message #210889] Sat, 23 December 2006 00:44 Go to previous messageGo to next message
dhananjay
hi,

http://www.orafaq.com/faq/what_is_import_export_and_why_does_one_need_it

regards,
Re: New to Oracle! [message #210896 is a reply to message #210894] Sat, 23 December 2006 00:47 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Frank
Hi

Welcome to the world of Oracle and to this forum.
If you read the first post in the forum, you will see some links to the official Oracle documentation.
This documentation is REALLY good. Try to get to know it and you will be able to find practically anything in it.

imp is not a sqlplus command as you already discovered, but it is a separate tool.
Search for it in the above mentioned docs, for you will undoubtedly run into a lot of errors the first time you try it Wink

If you get errors, read them very carefully. Often the cause can be found quite easily.
Second step is to google for the errorcode. Use the three letters-Dash-five numbers code for this, e.g. ORA-00001

If all that fails, please come back and ask us. Then post the errorcode, combined with the steps you took.
Tell us if you searched, and what the result was, or otherwise you have a chance people will advise you to search first.

good luck!
Re: New to Oracle! [message #210899 is a reply to message #210889] Sat, 23 December 2006 00:51 Go to previous messageGo to next message