Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » Triggers and Date's
Triggers and Date's [message #205429] Fri, 24 November 2006 13:15 Go to next message
lee337c33
Hi all,

Despite having a fairly decent grasp of SQL, I'm completely new to the PL/SQL side of things. I've created a couple of triggers before to calculate and recalculate wages, salary ratios etc, but I'm having a problem firing a trigger relating to DATE. The trouble being that I don't know how to do it.

I need the system to automatically print a birthday card when it is an employee's birthday; the trigger will fire when current date = employee’s birthday. The employee's DOB has been split into 3 columns: day, month and year; obviously, no trigger would fire if all 3 were in a DOB column as it is never likely to be 1970 in the future.

As I loath the DATE data type, I wondered if it were possible to create this trigger without using DATE. Any help would be greatly appreciated, and, of course, fully acknowledged in the subsequent documentation - unless you say you don't wana!

Thanks, Lee

Re: Triggers and Date's [message #205434 is a reply to message #205429] Fri, 24 November 2006 14:57 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Littlefoot
Account Moderator
First of all, 'DOB' table is badly designed - dates should be kept in DATE datatype columns, not split into three (I presume) NUMBER ones. I'd suggest you to change it (if possible).

OK, here's an example - table as I see it and some sample data. As today is 24th of November 2006, EMP_ID = 2343 celebrates his 38th birthday.
SQL> desc dob
 Name                                      Null?    Type
 ----------------------------------------- -------- ------------

DD                                                 NUMBER(2)
 MM                                                 NUMBER(2)
 YYYY                                               NUMBER(4)
 EMP_ID                                             NUMBER

SQL> select * From dob;

DD         MM       YYYY     EMP_ID