Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » Returning Recordset from PL/SQL
Returning Recordset from PL/SQL [message #196205] Wed, 04 October 2006 08:54 Go to next message
Fellow
I am an experienced database programmer but an Oracle n00b. I found the discussion in this thread helpful:

http://www.orafaq.com/forum/t/70199/93680/

I can run a script like this:

DECLARE
year1 NUMBER :=0;
year2 number :=0;
BEGIN
select atvfisc_code into year1 from atvfisc
where atvfisc_code = 2007;
select atvfisc_code into year2 from atvfisc
where atvfisc_code = year1;
dbms_output.put_line('The variable year1 = ');
dbms_output.put_line(year1);
dbms_output.put_line('The variable year2 = ');
dbms_output.put_line(year2);
END;

Where table atvfisc looks like:

atvfisc.atvfisc_code (one column only in table)
-----------------

and I get the output expected:
The variable year1 =
The variable year2 =
PL/SQL procedure successfully completed.

OK, here's the question: how do I return entire recordsets using a similar procedure? I would want to run something like this:

DECLARE
year1 NUMBER :=0;
BEGIN
--Made this query redundantly simple just for example.
select atvfisc_code into year1 from atvfisc
where atvfisc_code = 2007;

--Note: no "INTO" here. I want the records. Of course, this
--doesn't work.

select atvfisc_code from atvfisc
where atvfisc_code <> year1;
END;

and have it output:

Is there an easy way to do this?

Thanks for any help.

--Tom

Just to make things more complicated our DBA's won't allow mere users to create views, procedures, packages, or anything useful. Apparently, if they allow this, plagues of locusts will infest the servers Mad.

[Updated on: Wed, 04 October 2006 08:58]

Report message to a moderator

Re: Returning Recordset from PL/SQL [message #196211 is a reply to message #196205] Wed, 04 October 2006 09:14 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Cthulhu
There are three options:

a) write a function that returns a cursor
b) write a function that returns a TABLE type