Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » Bad Left Outer Join Optimisation
icon9.gif  Bad Left Outer Join Optimisation [message #194443] Fri, 22 September 2006 04:43 Go to next message
chimpychimpy
(I originally posted this in beginners forum, but I'm not sure is the right place since optimisation is a bit technical so I'm reposting here. Aplogies for double post)

I'm very new to Oracle, but used SQL before. I've got the following situation

Table Person (Theres about 9,000,000 different people in my db)
- id (int)
- name (char(255))
- job_id (int)
----
id is indexed,
( id, job_id ) is indexed

Table Job (Theres only about 50 differnt jobs)
- job_id (int)
- job_name (char(255))
------
job_id is indexed

all fields are non-null (ints are actually bigint's)

When I execute the query:
select p.Name,
       j.name

from 
       Person p
         left outer join
       Job j
         on p.job_id = j.job_id

where
       rownum < 100

This query takes over 2 minutes!...

if I use a normal inner join instead of left outer join (which is fair, since job is non-null) - it is a matter of miliseconds.

I would have expected oracle to notice that on a 'left', the person p must always be present, and so pull back the first 100 records of Person, and join them to Job if applicable

unfortunately, the time its taking, it must be joining the entirity of Person (9 million records) to Job, *then* getting the first 100 results. The explain plan backs this up :-

explain plan:
SELECT STATEMENT
COUNT | STOPKEY
HASH JOIN | OUTER
TABLE ACCESS | FULL | Person
TABLE ACCESS | FULL | Job

Unfortunately I do *not* have the choice to not use left outer join, since it is generated from third party software (hibernate).

SQL server copes with the same query with no problem, (1sec response or something). (changing db is not an option either!!)