Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » Subquery question.....
icon5.gif  Subquery question..... [message #193486] Sun, 17 September 2006 18:29 Go to next message
VAC357
I'm new to Oracle and have a problem I hope someone can explain.

Why can't I reference a table (i.e. accounts)? I receive an error message when trying to use it in my "select blah" subquery. What am I doing wrong?

Error Message = "accts_sys_id" invalid identifier

Many thanks,

VAC

select ............
FROM employees,
         company,
         accounts,
		( SELECT blah
    FROM blah_rollups
 WHERE blah_tax_id IN ('NP')
 CONNECT BY blah_sys_id_child = PRIOR blah_sys_id_parent
   START WITH blah_sys_id_child = accts_sys_id) DV

[Updated on: Sun, 17 September 2006 19:41]

Report message to a moderator

Re: Subquery question..... [message #193489 is a reply to message #193486] Sun, 17 September 2006 19:30 Go to previous messageGo to next message
BlackSwan
>I receive an error message
Error? What error?
I don't see any error message.
Re: Subquery question..... [message #193492 is a reply to message #193489] Sun, 17 September 2006 19:42 Go to previous messageGo to next message
VAC357
"accts_sys_id" invalid identifier is the message, yet I'm using the table in the FROM statement above the subquery
Re: Subquery question..... [message #193493 is a reply to message #193486] Sun, 17 September 2006 19:54 Go to previous messageGo to next message
BlackSwan
Oracle error messages contain ORA-?????
Two FROM clauses exits.
Post DESC of all tables involved.
PEBKAC is certain, but details are required to discern what is being done wrong.
You are NOT being charged by the character to post questions.
Why not do CUT & PASTE of the ACTUAL input & response?
Re: Subquery question..... [message #193494 is a reply to message #193493] Sun, 17 September 2006 20:02 Go to previous messageGo to next message
VAC357
ORA-00904: "accts_SYS_ID": invalid identifier