Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » Nested table or ref.. or what else?
Nested table or ref.. or what else? [message #193447] Sat, 16 September 2006 16:32 Go to next message
daad
hello, first of all i don't know if it's the right discussion forum to post this question to, but couldn't find anything better.
I'm very new to oracle, it's about a week i'm reading around tutorials, manuals etc... but still can't start my project yet.
I have to handle restoraunts of some cities. Every cities (name,province) is divided in some areas(id, name, city). every restaurants (id, name) is placed in an area [where the attributes underlined are primary key]
Now, to model this situation i thought to create a table Cities with name,province,areas where areas is a nested table with id,name as attributes. Then create a Restaurants table with id,name,located attributes where located is a ref attribute that point to a row of the nested table on a row of Cities. Is it possible?
The first problem i saw is that if i insert in a nested table 2 row with same id, no errors occur, but for every cities can't be 2 areas with same id, so that is not correct: is there a way to set a primary key on nested table?
Plus i tried several query to try to ref the attribute located in table Restaurant to a row of the nested table of a row of Cities table, but couldn't succed.
Am i using the wrong approach for this case?

Sorry if it's not the right sections of discussion forum, in case please forward me where i can post a question like that.
regards
Re: Nested table or ref.. or what else? [message #193448 is a reply to message #193447] Sat, 16 September 2006 17:32 Go to previous messageGo to next message
BlackSwan
I suggest that you use GOOGLE to do some reading & research on "Third Normal Form".
For me & others, what exactly do you mean by the term "nested table"?