Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » Stored Procedure using SQL insert for clob data > 4k
Stored Procedure using SQL insert for clob data > 4k [message #191714] Thu, 07 September 2006 19:53 Go to next message
ghanson
Hello folks,

I have googled this to my heart's content without solving this problem. I am an expert in OOP, OOA and a "5" when it comes to SQL DBA stuff. My Problem:

I am trying to create a Stored Procedure on an Oracle Database, that basically just inserts into another table a bunch of parameters.

The problem, is there are Clob Parameters specified (needed because the data is clob-like and can be > 4K). The "Insert into table…etc." works for Clob objects less than 4K in size. But gives "literal to long" for Clob objects greater than 4K.

I have spent all day on this, and could not find a solution. I have googled all over the Internet in search, as well as went to the bookstore to find a book that talks about this with no Luck.

I am a neophyte when it comes to SQL/Oracle, pardon my inquiry if it insults your intelligence, however in your answer if you could specify the Stored Procedure, and a good book on Oracle, you have my blessings.

best,
Greg
Re: Stored Procedure using SQL insert for clob data > 4k [message #191771 is a reply to message #191714] Fri, 08 September 2006 01:56 Go to previous messageGo to next message
kimant
Hi

Have You looked into the docs on clobs?
Have You inserted an empty clob first?

Show us Your code! (trimmed down to something easily readible)

Br
Kim
Re: Stored Procedure using SQL insert for clob data > 4k [message #191914 is a reply to message #191714] Fri, 08 September 2006 10:56 Go to previous messageGo to next message
ghanson
Ok, here is my latest attempt at this:

create or replace PROCEDURE INSERT_VENDOR_POOL_AC
(m_reportid IN CHAR,
m_guid IN VARCHAR2,
m_version IN CHAR,
m_officecode IN CHAR,
m_clientcode IN CHAR,
m_vendorcode IN NUMBER,
m_productcode IN CHAR,
m_optionalproductcode IN VARCHAR2,
m_accesscode IN CHAR,