Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » define statement in script
define statement in script [message #188678] Mon, 21 August 2006 03:24 Go to next message
Jeeper
Good day to you,

I am a programmer now working as a systems engineer, dba etc...
At the moment i am configuring an oracle database 10G Express i have installed as a test database. I have to run several SQL scripts. One of the scripts has the define statement. I cannot get it to work. What is wrong with it?

DEFINE asp_user = asp_user;

It should work fine, it worked before on a Oracle 9 database, but it does not here. Any ideas how I can get it to work?
Thanks in advance.

Cor
Re: define statement in script [message #188694 is a reply to message #188678] Mon, 21 August 2006 04:23 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Frank Naude
Are you working from SQL*Plus? Can you please post the output.
Re: define statement in script [message #188696 is a reply to message #188694] Mon, 21 August 2006 04:33 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Jeeper
Thanks for your answer. I log in, go to SQL Scripts and upload the scripts. When I run the scripts Oracle checks first and i get the message that the 4 DEFINE statements are unknown statements. The scripts are written for Oracle databases.
Re: define statement in script [message #188702 is a reply to message #188696] Mon, 21 August 2006 04:44 Go to previous messageGo to next message
JRowbottom
What tool are you using to run these scripts?
Is it SQL*Plus or something else?
Re: define statement in script [message #188707 is a reply to message #188678] Mon, 21 August 2006 04:54 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Jeeper
Good question. Since the database manager came with the database i can tell it is definitely Oracle but I cannot get more information out of it. No command prompt, mouse driven.
Name is SQL Workshop.
Re: define statement in script [message #188708 is a reply to message #188707] Mon, 21 August 2006 05:00 Go to previous messageGo to next message