Home » Other » Marketplace » Please advise.
icon8.gif  Please advise. [message #161662] Mon, 06 March 2006 09:42 Go to next message
ikedot

Hello everyone.
This is my first time on this. I joined this forum on Friday last week.

I am an Information Systems graduate student in Washington, DC. I am very much interested in Oracle and I want my career path to include oracle related products and work. Right now I am interested in the DBA program but my first degree is in Sociology, I have quite some experience in business and advertising and now I am getting my Masters degree, I am billed to graduate in December. I haven’t worked core IT before. I need a lot of experience to break into the field I know.

I am also interested in the Business side of Oracle. Could anyone please offer advice into what I would have to do if I wanted to work on the business side of any organization using Oracle as its primary backbone whether as a database or the enterprise manager.
Should I still proceed and study and take the DBA exam so I have a proper understanding of the technology before I decide where exactly I want to focus on?

Help will be appreciated.
Thank you.
Re: Please advise. [message #161695 is a reply to message #161662] Mon, 06 March 2006 15:25 Go to previous messageGo to next message
djmartin
Account Moderator
If you have started a course - finish it! Don't fixate on Oracle. If you intend getting into the business side there may be (however unlikely Smile ) a non-Oracle product that better fits an organisation's requirements.

David
Re: Please advise. [message #161697 is a reply to message #161695] Mon, 06 March 2006 15:34 Go to previous messageGo to next message
ikedot

I am currently in a Masters degree program, but i understand that this is not enough to have a firm grip on a job or a IT position in the labor market. I understand that Oracle professionals are quite valuable to their employers and also quite sought after.