Home » Developer & Programmer » Precompilers, OCI & OCCI » SQLPLUS commands (Shutdown an instance) using C#
SQLPLUS commands (Shutdown an instance) using C# [message #125206] Thu, 23 June 2005 15:47 Go to next message
charlie.becker@hp.com
Hello,

I'm new to Oracle development, but I'm looking for a way to programatically shutdown an Oracle instance so I can then migrate some datafiles.

I've had no problem using SQLPLUS to run "shutdown" and then to run some of the "alter database" commands I need for migration, however I need a way to programatically run these commands from within C#.

With C# I have been successful using OracleConnection and OracleCommand to run certain "select" statements, but it gives the "ORA-00900: invalid SQL statement" if I try to run "shutdown".

I have been searching for many many hours but have not found any good solution. If this can't be done using C# commands, then I'd like to find a way to run the script and pull the results into my C# program to get the results of whether or not the "shutdown" or the "alter database" commands were successful.

Anyone have any suggestions?

Charlie Becker
Re: SQLPLUS commands (Shutdown an instance) using C# [message #130133 is a reply to message #125206] Thu, 28 July 2005 06:12 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Michael Hartley

What error messages did you get?

Did you connect to the database as sysdba?

Kind regards
Michael Hartley
http://www.openfieldsolutions.co.uk
Re: SQLPLUS commands (Shutdown an instance) using C# [message #130182 is a reply to message #130133] Thu, 28 July 2005 10:59 Go to previous messageGo to next message
charlie.becker@hp.com
Michael,

When I run "shutdown" commands using OracleConnection/OracleCommand I get the error:

ORA-00900: invalid SQL statement

Yes, I am logging in as sysdba.

Hope you can help, this is definitely stumping me!

Thanks,

Charlie