Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » Doubts
Doubts [message #10662] Sun, 08 February 2004 21:36 Go to next message
sudhir
Hi evrybdy,

i am a beginner in Oracle, & a few doubts have come up while i've been studying it. ls do help me with my doubts.

1) What has to be done if I want to change a value of a column of data type string, to  "&abs" because when ever we take "&" the next part is considered as a variable name. 

2) Can we see the uncommitted data by any command?

3) How to see the time content of the date type column & insert the time with date or only time?

4) What is the difference between the BLOB & BFILE and what is the size is ROW & LONG ROW in bytes?

5) How to distinguish between the AD & BC dates, for example i want to record a date of an event which occurred in B.C period so how to do it?

6) What is the difference between cat, tab & user_catalog?

7) There is a option "SET UNUSED" after marking the column unused which is not actually dropped from the table. So is it possible to retrieve it back to make it accessible?

8) Can we change the column name of a table?

Thanx a lot,

Sudhir
Re: Doubts [message #10664 is a reply to message #10662] Sun, 08 February 2004 23:13 Go to previous message
Maaher
1. You specify that your string '&abs' is not a variable by either:
SQL> SET SCAN OFF
or
SET ESCAPE  <I>(or some other character)</I>
The first command will preven sql*plus from scanning for variables. The latter will allow you to specify an 'escape character' if you precede the ampersand (&) by the backslash, the & will be ignored:
SQL> set escape 
SQL> select '&abs' from dual;

'&AB
----
&abs

SQL> 

2. From another session: no.
3. Change your date format (NLS_DATE_FORMAT). You can do this on your client (in the registry) for every session or you can do it for one session via an alter session command:
SQL> ALTER SESSION SET NLS_DATE_FORMAT='DD/MM/YYYY HH24:MI';

Session altered.

SQL> Select SYSDATE 
  2    From dual;

SYSDATE
----------------