Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » ERROR 12560
ERROR 12560 [message #10363] Sat, 17 January 2004 17:02 Go to next message
carly
I know you've all seen this before.  I just want to be clear.  I just installed 9i v.2 on a machine running XP.  Every time I try to log on to sql plus, ( I have 8i on 2K but upgraded worked fine!!!) I get error 12560, protocol adapter error.  When using host name I get 12154, could not resolve service name.  I am a student.newbie and need help.  Thank you

Carly
Re: ERROR 12560 [message #10364 is a reply to message #10363] Sat, 17 January 2004 21:29 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Barbara Boehmer
Please click on the link below for the section of Oracle on-line documentation on ora-12154 and see if that helps.

Re: ERROR 12560 [message #10368 is a reply to message #10364] Sun, 18 January 2004 15:41 Go to previous messageGo to next message
carly
Thank you Barbara for your reply.
I have searched and cannot find tnsnames.ora file. Do I now have to de/reinstall Oracle. Create the file in MSDOS... and under what directory (besides Oracle92what goes here) Also, will naming the service do all, specifically, access to SQL, and the 12560 error?
Thank you again
Carly
Re: ERROR 12560 [message #10369 is a reply to message #10368] Sun, 18 January 2004 17:23 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Barbara Boehmer
Are you sure you do not have a tnsnames.ora file anywhere on your hard drive? Have you searched every sub-directory of all partitions, c:?, d:?. From the command prompt of each root directory, if you type:

dir tnsnames*.*/s/p