Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » exception prob.
exception prob. [message #9453] Tue, 11 November 2003 06:44 Go to next message
bhavin shah
dear sirs,
presently i am very new to pl/sql and just started to learn pl/sql basics.
i have made a cursor below.

declare cursor my_first_cursor(itemcode in varchar2)
is select mr_matcode,mr_matdesc from mf_refbook
where mr_matcode=itemcode;
itemcode varchar2(9);
itemdesc ntdata.mf_refbook.mr_matdesc%TYPE;
begin
open my_first_cursor('003230003');
loop
fetch my_first_cursor into itemcode,itemdesc;
dbms_output.put_line(itemcode);
exit when my_first_cursor %notfound;
dbms_output.put_line(itemdesc);
end loop;
EXCEPTION
WHEN NO_DATA_FOUND THEN
DBMS_OUTPUT.PUT_LINE('YOU HAVE NOT THIS MATCODE IN REFBOOK');
WHEN OTHERS THEN
DBMS_OUTPUT.PUT_LINE(' I CANT UNDER STAND');
close my_first_cursor;
end;
/

here itemcode 003230003 is not in refbook and no rows selected in that cursors but even though it can't go to exception no_data_found.. why..??
Re: exception prob. [message #9454 is a reply to message #9453] Tue, 11 November 2003 08:41 Go to previous messageGo to next message
sverch
1.Close your cursor before exception, not after.
2. Instead of coding your logic in the exception,
use cursor attribute:
IF my_first_cursor%NOTFOUND
THEN
DBMS_OUTPUT.PUT_LINE('YOU HAVE NOT THIS MATCODE IN REFBOOK');
ELSE...
END IF;
Re: exception prob. [message #9455 is a reply to message #9453] Tue, 11 November 2003 23:53 Go to previous message
Maaher
Using an explicit cursor will not raise a NO_DATA_FOUND, ever... . You'll have to raise it yourself or use a 'SELECT INTO...' construction:
Select mr_matcode,mr_matdesc 
  Into itemcode, itemdesc
  From mf_refbook
 Where mr_matcode = itemcode;