Home » Developer & Programmer » Designer » What is the Difference Between Oracle Developer and Designer 2000
What is the Difference Between Oracle Developer and Designer 2000 [message #81509] Tue, 25 February 2003 09:36 Go to next message
Sujan
Hi All,
I am very much confused with the Terms Oraacle Developer 2000 and Oracle Designer 2000. So Please Help me i am new to the Oracle.
Thanks
Re: What is the Difference Between Oracle Developer and Designer 2000 [message #81513 is a reply to message #81509] Wed, 26 February 2003 04:36 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Ritesh Kumar
These refer to two different products of Oracle.
Developer -> Development Suite (forms, reports, etc)
Designer -> Data Modeling product
With Designer you generate what you build by hand in Developer. [message #81518 is a reply to message #81509] Wed, 26 February 2003 15:00 Go to previous message
Cor
With Developer you can build "by hand" forms and reports. For example you drag and drop elements of your form on a drawing board. You work in a .fmb file and when you finished the work, you will compile it into a .fmx file.

With Designer you can generate forms (and reports) based on so called modules you build in Designer. It is a more abstract level of working. In this module you define objects, f.e. a recordgrid based on a specific table. Furthermore you set properties for these objects, f.e. you want the grid to start 2 positions from the left and having a width of 80 positions. Next the Designer-generator will transform all this definitions into a form, a fmb-file. You can open this fmb-file in Developer Forms, and continu working on it from there if you want to. Designer can also compile the fmb-file it generated, so you have the endproduct (.fmx) file already there.