Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » Missing Expression Error
Missing Expression Error [message #7080] Tue, 20 May 2003 08:00 Go to next message
Ray
Hi, I am a newbie to SQL

I get this error:

==> SQLException:

SQLState: 42000
ErrorCode: 936

when trying to execute the statement below. Please let me know if you need more information. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks.

SELECT METRIX_PROJECT_TASK.REQUEST_ID, METRIX_PROJECT_TASK.PROJ_TASK_ID, METRIX_PROJECT_TASK.EXPORT_TASK, Left([[METRIX_REQUEST]].[[PLACE_ID]],2) AS OpCo, METRIX_PERSON.FIRST_NAME FROM METRIX_PERSON INNER JOIN (METRIX_PROJECT_TASK INNER JOIN METRIX_REQUEST ON METRIX_PROJECT_TASK.REQUEST_ID = METRIX_REQUEST.REQUEST_ID) ON METRIX_PERSON.PERSON_ID = METRIX_PROJECT_TASK.PERSON_ID WHERE (((METRIX_PROJECT_TASK.EXPORT_TASK) Is Null) AND ((Left([[METRIX_REQUEST]].[[PLACE_ID]],2))=25) AND ((METRIX_PERSON.FIRST_NAME)="GLVND"));
Re: Missing Expression Error [message #7082 is a reply to message #7080] Tue, 20 May 2003 08:50 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Martin Chadderton
Hmm... looks like an Access or (put microsoft product here) SQL this, basically, your problem is the Left function, doesn't exist in oracle, i..e

SQL> select left([[dummy]], 2) from dual;
select left([[dummy]], 2) from dual
ERROR at line 1:
ORA-00936: missing expression

The Oracle alternative is

SQL> SELECT SUBSTR('XYZ', 1, 2) FROM DUAL;

SU
--
XY

You will also have problems with the double quotes, i.e.

SQL> SELECT "xyz" from dual;
SELECT "xyz" from dual
ERROR at line 1:
ORA-00904: invalid column name

Oracle uses single quotes

Regards.
Re: Missing Expression Error [message #7083 is a reply to message #7082] Tue, 20 May 2003 09:04 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Ray
Martin,

Thanks for your suggestion, but after replacing left with substr and putting single quotes, I still get same error message. Any other ideas? Thanks. This is what I have now: