Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » TO_CHAR and TO_NUMBER
TO_CHAR and TO_NUMBER [message #6988] Wed, 14 May 2003 14:59 Go to next message
Susan
I have a data item that is VARCHAR2 datatype, but the value that we store in it is the number of years for an action. If someone completes an action during the year, I need to increase the number by 1. I'm REALLY new to SQL, but I'm thinking that I should probably use TO_NUMBER to add 1 to the item, then change it all back to a character to update the VARCHAR2 item in the table. Here's what I'm doing and the error that I'm getting. Can you help? Thanks!

SET year_code = TO_CHAR(TO_NUMBER(year_code) + 1)
ERROR at line 2:
ORA-01722: invalid number
Re: TO_CHAR and TO_NUMBER [message #6989 is a reply to message #6988] Wed, 14 May 2003 15:10 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Todd Barry
Oracle will implicitly handle the conversions for you, so you could just:

update ...
   set year_code = year_code + 1
 where ...

I would guess that your error is caused by the fact that year_code, in some row somewhere, does not actually contain a number.

Your best option would really be to alter the datatype for that column to reflect the type of data that it stores. Storing numbers in string columns just leaves yourself wide open for invalid data - which is what is probably causing your error.
Re: TO_CHAR and TO_NUMBER [message #6992 is a reply to message #6989] Wed, 14 May 2003 15:57 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Susan
Hi Todd,
Thanks for your reply. Actually, I tried that also, but got the same error. If I put it in a SELECT statement (Select years_code + 1), it accepts it as a number. But, it doesn't like it in an UPDATE statement. I am learning that UPDATE is the hardest command to get a hold of!