Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » Database vs Tablespace
Database vs Tablespace [message #654158] Wed, 27 July 2016 20:50 Go to next message
KirkSpiritor
Hi everyone.

I'm a quite decent programmer, and I'm not bad with SQL, but using an Oracle server is something new to me. Most of my work is of a smaller nature using MS-Access as my database.

However, I'm being asked to assist with a project that will be using an Oracle server. The server is up and running for other purposes. It's on a WAN that connects several facilities together which each have their own LAN.

My team is exploring the possibility of setting up a new set of tables on this Oracle server. I'm taking the lead of talking to the international I.T. guys, but I'm still coming up to speed to speak their Oracle "language". I'm coming along fine, but I do have a few questions.

First, I've learned a great deal about TableSpaces, but this I.T. department is also saying that they will need to set up a separate "database" for me on the Oracle Server. To set up the TableSpace, I proposed this SQL+ statement:
CREATE TABLESPACE TheRegistry DATAFILE 'TheRegistry.dat' SIZE 20M ONLINE;

I was thinking that the 'TheRegistry.dat' file would be the actual database (possibly with some additional files that the server may create for locking and what-not.

Please provide me some help in intelligently talking to these I.T. folks. The more I can convince them that I know what's going on, the more they'll be willing to help me.

Best Regards,
Kyle

Re: Database vs Tablespace [message #654161 is a reply to message #654158] Thu, 28 July 2016 00:11 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Littlefoot
Account Moderator
In my opinion, I'd say that tablespace is NOT what you need. You need a "schema" , i.e. someone should create a new "user" for you using (in its simplest appearance)
create user kirkspiritor identified by some_password;