Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » Using utl_file (11.0.2.10)
Using utl_file [message #649350] Wed, 23 March 2016 04:46 Go to next message
OraFerro
Hi All,

This is my first time using utl_file. I compiled the below testing SP to generate a file in a directory that I have created previously on the server. Still when I run the SP I get"
ORA-29283: invalid file operation
ORA-06512: at "SYS.UTL_FILE", line 536
ORA-29283: invalid file operation
ORA-06512: at "AFESD3.TEST_P_WRITE", line 6
ORA-06512: at line 2

Note: I suspect that there is something I have to do from the OS, as I am already the creator of the alias, but I can not find documentation about that. Kindly provide your support

create or replace directory FILE_GEN_DIR as 'c:\FILE_GEN_DIR';

GRANT all ON DIRECTORY FILE_GEN_DIR TO  PUBLIC;

CREATE OR REPLACE PROCEDURE  test_p_write
IS
    f  utl_file.file_type;
BEGIN

f := utl_file.fopen ('FILE_GEN_DIR', 'FILE_GEN_DIR.txt', 'W');

FOR  r  IN  (  SELECT  *
                   FROM   employee
                )
    LOOP
        utl_file.put_line ( f, r.number0) ;
    END LOOP;

utl_file.fclose (f);
END  test_p_write;

Many thanks,
Ferro
Re: Using utl_file [message #649351 is a reply to message #649350] Wed, 23 March 2016 04:54 Go to previous messageGo to next message
John Watson
There is nothing wrong with that code. Have you checked the permissions on the Windows directory? Can you local system user (assuming that the instance is running under that account) read and write to it?
Re: Using utl_file [message #649383 is a reply to message #649351] Wed, 23 March 2016 15:09 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Bill B
Find out where the directory object FILE_GEN_DIR is pointing to and then make sure that the Windows user account that is running the Oracle database server has permission to read and write from that directory. Remember that the directory HAS to be on the machine running the Oracle Database.

[Updated on: Wed, 23 March 2016 15:10]