Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » Results Set based on Dynamic Date stored in variable (Oracle SQL Developer)
Results Set based on Dynamic Date stored in variable [message #644758] Mon, 16 November 2015 15:50 Go to next message
Anil98765
Hi, I'm very new to the Oracle world coming from a SQL background. I could do this in SQL Server.

Basically, I created 2 variable for Start/End date to pull the previous Monday thru Sunday. (Example if today is 11/16 - I'd pull 11/9 - 11/15). I was to dynamically get those dates and assign it to the PrevWeekStateDate & PrevWeekEndDate to use them in the where condition.

--Declare Variables 
variable  PrevWeekStateDate varchar2(30);
variable  PrevWeekEndDate  varchar2(30);

--Hardcodes date - I dont want this dynamically get the dates
exec  :PrevWeekStateDate :='11022015';
exec  :PrevWeekEndDate :='11082015';

/*  How do I assign the select to the var?
--Set Variables bases on current date to get previous Monday and previous Sunday
exec  :PrevWeekStateDate :=  (select next_day (sysdate-8,'MONDAY')  from dual);
exec  :PrevWeekEndDate :=   (select next_day (sysdate-7, 'SUNDAY')  from dual);

--2nd attempt to assign via into
--Set Variables bases on current date to get previous Monday and previous Sunday
select next_day (sysdate-8,'MONDAY') into PrevWeekStateDate from dual;
select next_day (sysdate-7, 'SUNDAY') into PrevWeekEndDate from dual;
*/

--Get results set
SELECT 
    COUNT(*)
 FROM worklight.TBL_ACTIVITY_LOG
WHERE ACTIVITY LIKE '%Refill Proc%'
AND activity_dttm between to_date(:PrevWeekStateDate, 'mmddyyyy')
AND to_date(:PrevWeekEndDate, 'mmddyyyy');

Any insight would be great as I started a new job and trying to impress the boss by getting this scheduled.

Re: Results Set based on Dynamic Date stored in variable [message #644759 is a reply to message #644758] Mon, 16 November 2015 17:52 Go to previous messageGo to next message
BlackSwan
SELECT Count(*) 
FROM   worklight.tbl_activity_log