Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » How to handle unknown number of variables
How to handle unknown number of variables [message #633479] Thu, 19 February 2015 08:30 Go to next message
Nuggit
Hi!
Lets see how I can describe this problem in the easist way.
please bare with me as im pretty new to PL SQL... I have a background in java-programming so Im at least rather famililar with programming...

The thing im trying to accomplish is...
I have created a function in our information system, that collects selected rows from a order and processes a return for these.
(the function to create these function is built into our information system)

So the PL SQL code I have written does this

DECLARE
order_number VARCHAR2(20);
order_row VARCHAR2(20);
part_number VARCHAR2(20);
BEGIN
order_number := &order_number
order_row :=&order_row
part_number :=&part_number

str :='order_number'||order_number||'order_row'||order_row||'part_number'||part_number;

TEST_PACKAGE_PROCESS_ORDER.START_PROCESS(str);

What this does is that it sets my variables order_number, order_row and part_number to the content of the database view for the order shown on the screen in the information system.
This works just fine as long as only 1 row is selected...
the str that is passed on to my next procedure looks like this "order_number12345order_row6789part_number0987"

If I select more than 1 row in the information system. (which shall be possible).
I need the str to become order_number12345order_row6789part_number0987order_number6789order_row9876part_number1234

Just add on the next row at the end of the STR
so STR + str...
However... the problem is... the information from the information system comes one after another... So I need to make a loop like
"while new information is coming
do STR + STR
WHEN no information has come in 5 seconds, continue

Any ideas how to solve this?

I hope my explanation is okay!

Thanks for your help
and bare in mind im a beginnner;-)