Home » Developer & Programmer » Forms » Check if details exist before saving master record.. (Forms 11g)
Check if details exist before saving master record.. [message #628056] Wed, 19 November 2014 10:09 Go to next message
nait1234
I have a form that has a master block that lets you enter multiple records. When one of these master records has a "code" field populated with a specific value, the details block needs to have at least one row entered in it as well (you can enter more than one detail row... if not for that, this would be easy to do).

So I've been spinning my wheels to try and find a way to have the form check to see if details exist before saving a master row to the database. I've tried a variety of things. I've mostly been trying to figure out a trigger where this would make sense and to be able to iterate or count the rows sitting in the detail block for that specific master record that is about to be saved.

I can't use GO_BLOCK within the pre-insert, pre-update, commits, etc, of the master record, as that is not a legal function to call in these triggers. So that prevents me from being able to do anything I've thought about (using LAST_RECORD, or checking the value of a field in that block against null, or using COUNT_QUERY against this block).

Does anyone have any ideas? Is this possible? Of course the big problem is it's sort of a "chicken before the egg" thing, where you can't have any detail committed in the database of course without the master existing first, and the requester of this change wants the form to enforce that details have been entered (at least one row) if the master has been saved as a specific code.

I appreciate any help anyone can give, but I'd like to avoid anything too overly complicated, if possible (if it gets to be something that will be a lot of work, I'll push to not have this requirement in place).

Thanks!