Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » how to use PL/SQL in a before insert trigger to check a value.
how to use PL/SQL in a before insert trigger to check a value. [message #623738] Sat, 13 September 2014 11:46 Go to next message
mattfriend
Hi Folks

I'm relatively new to PL/SQL and I've been trying to figure out how to do this code/check in a before insert trigger.

Info: I have two tables, BALES_FED, and GRAZING_RECORDS (I have included their structure at the bottom of this post and a diagram pic. They are linked through the PASTURE field.

Background: Before I let a record be saved in the BALES_FED table, I need to ensure that the Pasture the user had selected (from a select list/combo box) is allowed. Choosing a particular pasture is only allowed if there are animals currently in that particular pasture or they were there in the last day (i.e. current data or current data -1) from when the hay was fed. There are over 1500 possible pasture and we want the end users to only be able to select a pasture and save the record if there were animals in that pasture when they were fed (to make sure they have selected the right pasture, etc.)

I need to ensure that the DATE_FED column in the BALES_FED table falls within that time. The GRAZING_RECORDS table has a DATE_IN and a DATE_OUT columns. If there is a DATE_IN, but the DATE_OUT is null the record can be saved since the animals are still in the pasture (This is shown because since there is no DATE_OUT). If there is a DATE_OUT value saved, then I need to check to see if the value in the DATE_FED column in the BALES_FED table is = or after the DATE_IN column and is < or = to the DATE_OUT to allow the record to be saved.