Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » Multi-step query script in Toad (Toad Ora 11.0)
Multi-step query script in Toad [message #613821] Mon, 12 May 2014 14:25 Go to next message
ipisors
I want to do the following:

1. create a temp table
2. populate it with a select query
3. run a select statement from the temp table

I am using this method:

CREATE GLOBAL TEMPORARY TABLE tempSR 
ON COMMIT PRESERVE ROWS
AS
   Select ......
   From   ......
   Where  ......

Select * from tempSR

It seems like in Oracle, I must need some other wrappers to get this done. How is this done? I currently get "command not properly ended" on the last line. It works if I comment out the last line.

Sorry, I am very new to PL/SQL.
Re: Multi-step query script in Toad [message #613823 is a reply to message #613821] Mon, 12 May 2014 14:47 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Michel Cadot
Account Moderator

Statements should be terminated by ";" or "/" alone on a new line.

[Updated on: Mon, 12 May 2014 14:48]

Report message to a moderator

Re: Multi-step query script in Toad [message #613826 is a reply to message #613823] Mon, 12 May 2014 14:53 Go to previous messageGo to next message
ipisors
[insert 'shame' emoticon]

Thanks Michael. As I mentioned, I'm very new to Oracle and wasn't even sure the correct terminology enough to produce effective Google results.

It works great - thanks again.
Re: Multi-step query script in Toad [message #613839 is a reply to message #613826] Mon, 12 May 2014 16:52 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Littlefoot
Account Moderator