Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » update sql script (11g2)
update sql script [message #603472] Mon, 16 December 2013 18:29 Go to next message
anncao
I am new to oracle, would like to write a script (.sql file)that update a column in one table with a column data in another table.
The script will be run using SQL plus.

I have two questions:
I wrote the following query,

Begin
Merge INTO Storedgrades Sg USING
(SELECT Co.Credittype FROM Course Co
) ON ((Sg.Course_Number=Co.Course_Number) AND (NVL(Sg.Credit_Type,-1) <>Co.Credittype) )
WHEN Matched THEN
  Update Set Sg.Credit_Type=Co.Credittype
  --where (NVL(Sg.Credit_Type,-1) <>Co.Credittype);
End

For above merge statement, because I would like to only update credit type that is null or different, I am not sure where should I add the NVL(Sg.Credit_Type,-1) <>Co.Credittype, in the on condition part or in the where statement that I commented out.

Second question:

If we use SQLplus to run the script, what do I need to add in the script for example things like settings, or do I need to add a commit, or / etc at the end of the file?

Any update script example used by sqlplus that I can take a look online?

Thanks

[Updated on: Mon, 16 December 2013 18:37]

Report message to a moderator

Re: update sql script [message #603473 is a reply to message #603472] Mon, 16 December 2013 18:46 Go to previous messageGo to next message
BlackSwan
I suggest that you start this effort by composing a single SELECT statement that results in all the rows which should be UPDATED.

It would be helpful if you provided DDL (CREATE TABLE ...) for tables involved.
It would be helpful if you provided DML (INSERT INTO ...) for test data.
It would be helpful if you followed Posting Guidelines - http://www.orafaq.com/forum/t/88153/0/311
It would be helpful if you provided expected/desired results & a detailed explanation how & why the test data gets transformed or organized.