Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » How to Select data when it has a single quote in the value. (PL/SQL on Win 7 Pro 64bit)
How to Select data when it has a single quote in the value. [message #594981] Wed, 04 September 2013 10:46 Go to next message
jfranchi
Hi all, hopefully someone has the answer, I am new to PL/SQL.

The descrip field in the item table has the single quote used as the symbol for feet.
I have the same issue pulling from a last name field in other tables. (Like O'Connor)

select descrip into v_result
from c_ship_hist
where shipment_dtl_id = :SDID;
exception when others then null;

The error I get is "Missing right quote". How do I code around this issue without having to change the data?

Thank you
Re: How to Select data when it has a single quote in the value. [message #594982 is a reply to message #594981] Wed, 04 September 2013 10:49 Go to previous messageGo to next message
BlackSwan
Please read and follow the forum guidelines, to enable us to help you:

http://www.orafaq.com/forum/t/88153/0/

http://askanantha.blogspot.com/2007/12/q-quote-operator-introduced-in-oracle.html

Re: How to Select data when it has a single quote in the value. [message #594983 is a reply to message #594981] Wed, 04 September 2013 10:50 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Michel Cadot
Account Moderator
Welcome to the forum.

Please read OraFAQ Forum Guide and How to use [code] tags and make your code easier to read.
Make sure that lines of code do not exceed 80 characters when you format.
Indent the code, use code tags and align the columns in result.
Use the "Preview Message" or "Preview Quick Reply" button to verify.
Also always post your Oracle version, with 4 decimals.