Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » Mutating Table Error
Mutating Table Error [message #589301] Thu, 04 July 2013 03:15 Go to next message
maisi
Hello,

I'm fairly new to PL/SQL and came across an error I can't seem to find a solution for.

Following situation:

Table A basically has 4 rows of interest, an outside event changes/inserts let's say row 1.
Row 2 and 3 have to be changed in a trigger depending on the new value of 1.(or not if the value stays the same)

Row 4 is the reference for the update and will not be changed.

My first simple AFTER INSERT or UPDATE trigger obviously failed because of the mutating table error.

I've read a lot of similar posts and solutions but I can't get a solution which would work on this particular situation.

Thanks a lot in advance!

Best regards,

Martin
Re: Mutating Table Error [message #589303 is a reply to message #589301] Thu, 04 July 2013 03:23 Go to previous messageGo to next message
ThomasG
A Mutating table error usually points to a wrong database design. In your case, what happens when someone changes row 1 while somebody else updates row 2?

The best solution to a mutating table is to fix the design.
Re: Mutating Table Error [message #589304 is a reply to message #589301] Thu, 04 July 2013 03:26 Go to previous messageGo to next message
cookiemonster
So you have a table where updates fire a trigger that in turn updates the same table?
That says there's something seriously wrong with your data model.

Think about what would happen if you didn't get mutating table:
update would fire the trigger, which would do update, which would fire trigger, which would do update.
Repeat.

The best solution will be to change your table structure to avoid having to do any of this in the first place.