Home » Developer & Programmer » Reports & Discoverer » CASE function with multiple criteria (Discoverer 4.1 / Windows xp)
CASE function with multiple criteria [message #588057] Thu, 20 June 2013 10:32 Go to next message
mdfreeman
Hi!

I am new to the forum. I've been using Discoverer for about 6 months now, mostly self taught.

I am using: Desktop / Discoverer 4.1 / Windows XP.

I am attempting to add a new calcauted column and have had some success with the CASE funtion but need to add additional criteria.

What I have that works is:

SUM(CASE WHEN Expenditure Type = 'Supplier Rebates' THEN Total Spend Plus Commit ELSE 0 END)

What I need to add are a few additional criteria. I attempted and failed with a few variants of this:

SUM(CASE WHEN Expenditure Type = 'Supplier Rebates' AND Capitalizable = 'Y' AND
Task Owing Company = '534' OR '915' THEN Total Spend Plus Commit ELSE 0 END)

The three criteria points that I am looking to includea are:

• Expenditure Type = 'Supplier Rebates'
• Capitalizable = 'Y'
• Task Owing Company = '534' OR '915'

Thank you in advance for the help!
Re: CASE function with multiple criteria [message #588058 is a reply to message #588057] Thu, 20 June 2013 10:33 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Michel Cadot
Account Moderator
What does "failed" mean?

Regards
Michel
Re: CASE function with multiple criteria [message #588059 is a reply to message #588058] Thu, 20 June 2013 10:36 Go to previous messageGo to next message
cookiemonster
This isn't valid:
Task Owing Company = '534' OR '915'

Needs to be either:
(Task Owing Company = '534' OR Task Owing Company = '915')

or
Task Owing Company IN ('534', '915')
Re: CASE function with multiple criteria [message #588068 is a reply to message #588059] Thu, 20 June 2013 12:00 Go to previous messageGo to next message
mdfreeman
@Michel - Good point. Next time I'll makes sure I include the error information in my question.

@cookiemonster
Thank you! I am really close!