Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » PL/SQL (INSERT/UPDATE) unique constraint violated error In trigger due to sequencel.nextval
icon9.gif  PL/SQL (INSERT/UPDATE) unique constraint violated error In trigger due to sequencel.nextval [message #580408] Sun, 24 March 2013 04:27 Go to next message
chankx91

I need a really big help from u all ,Im a newbie , this is the first time I'm writing trigger.

I want insert/update records to another table(MICL_SUPERVISORS) using Trigger (pl/sql oracle 10g).

When trigger fired its giving an error as ORA-00001: unique constraint violated. I know it happen because I want to add SUPID from sequence ( Select micl_sup_id_seq.nextval into nSUPID from dual;). And this is happening inside a loop.

SUPID- column is primary key in my table( MICL_SUPERVISOR). So I cant drop that constraint.

Once I tried auto incrementing but it take long time and it didn't work well and it is slow. I have thousands of records in this table. I did it as SELECT MAX((SUP_ID)+1 from micl_sup_id_seq

Due to this Error I did a small research and found out we cannot use seq.nextval inside a trigger. So my question is is there any easy, accurate way to achieve this.??? pls help me Sad Im struggling this for weeks and weeks

thanks in advance

Here is the code (it all happening inside if clause else part is working Fine. Pls note that I have use a cursor , inside open cursor all this happen)

create or replace
TRIGGER "c"."INSERT_MICL_SUP_DETAILS" AFTER INSERT OR UPDATE OF "ID","SUP_EMP_NO","EMP_NO" ON "MIMAX"."EMP" REFERENCING OLD AS "OLD" NEW AS "NEW" FOR EACH ROW

DECLARE miclaim_supervisor_count number; employee_company_code VARCHAR2(10); employee_businessunit number; projMgr NUMBER; nSUPID NUMBER;

cursor projMgrsCursor is select b.BU_MEMBER_ID
from BU_MEMBER b, EMP_SUB_DIV s
where s.EMP_NO = :NEW.EMP_NO
and s.SUB_DIVISION_CODE = '0345' and s.DIV_CODE = '1010'
and b.BU_ID IN (select BU_ID from BU_MEMBER where BU_MEMBER_ID = :NEW.EMP_NO);

BEGIN